Tips for growing for a show.

• 20 Replies

muckyboots

• Experienced Member
Tips for growing for a show.
« on: November 19, 2009, 20:12 »
Hi , this is my first attempt at contacting the experts.(And using this site so be gentle )Our gardening club held a show last year which was a success,but alas my entry's (2) were poor to say the least.Basicly I grow to eat ,(I only grow small potato's because of my small mouth) I would like to put some carrots,parsnip and peas in next year, and would value any help as to what and how to go about it.I would add that I,m a novice at growing veg ,(ie the size of my potato's) and am keen to learn all about growing my own. Thanks for reading this. :unsure:

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Tips for growing for a show.
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 09:38 »
Hi Muckyboots and welcome to the site  :D

Small spuds are often the result of inadequate watering when the spuds are growing.  Some people add manure or potato fertiliser too, though I tend to forget and haven't noticed a huge problem  ::)

Carrots are tricky to grow on heavy soil, they prefer sandy soil and will fork (funny shapes) at the slightest opportunity - e.g. if they hit a stone.  Also do not manure the plot where carrots or parsnips will grow as this too will encourage forking.

Peas are straightforward, just choose a variety you like the sound of.  Dig a trench about 6" wide and a couple of inches deep, scatter the seeds in there quite thickly (perhaps about 2" diagonal spacing in three rows) and then cover up.  The birds will attack the new shoots so cover up with net or fleece or mesh etc.

Best of all, have a read here for starters and consider a good book - John's books through this site are really well written and helpful.  :D

P.S. I'm sending this thread to the Grow Your Own forum as it's about growing your own  ;)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Salmo

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 11:21 »