Not roosting

• 11 Replies

Foghorn

• Longclose Pigs
Not roosting
« on: April 11, 2009, 21:18 »
Just got my first 7 fowl today and am a complete novice. They seem to have settled and I have spent a fair amount of time with them this afternoon but I have just checked them (9.10pm) and they are all huddled in a corner in there run and not on there roost is this normal. There run is 18ft X 10ft totally enclosed and roofed with perches outside and in the coop. Any advice much appreciated.

Sparr0wman

Re: Not roosting
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 21:44 »
ive had the same thing. I find them in the corner of the coop, i have been picking them up andnputting them on the pirch. I feel aweful as they look so comfy. Does it matter where they choose to sleep?

treacleminer

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2009, 22:15 »
When you first get them, they may not be used to a perch.  Picking up and putting them on it trains them.

They apparently do something like 2/3rds of their droppings at night, so perching at least keeps them out of it!  Possibly other health reasons too, someone else will now :)

andreadon

• My Diary
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2009, 17:05 »
heehee!  :D
ours hardly ever perch - only when it's boiling hot outside, and they need a draft down below....
they seem quite happy (they sleep on newspaper and it gets changed every day)
all of their petticoats are in good order, so it's not burning them....

alibean

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2009, 19:22 »
In agreement with treaclimber - a little encouragement might be needed.

I had to put my ex-bats in their house to start with and even after a year three sleep on the perch and three nestle down in the straw. ( and the perch is plenty long enough).  As long as they are secure from predators and away from nasty draughts they can choose their arrangements as far as I'm concerned!!! :nowink:

kimT

• http://www.thepoultrygarden.com
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2009, 21:42 »