Ventilation

• 12 Replies

Bubbles

Ventilation
« on: April 10, 2009, 15:14 »
I think I've just posted my topic to the wrong forum, what a complete beginner I am at all this!
Just to repeat what I asked the allotment people by mistake ...
My hen coop has no proper ventilation panel and there is no room above the chickens heads to put one in. At the moment its not hot enough to worry but will there be enough airflow coming up through the holes in the droppings boards? THere must be some gaps in the roof as it is leaking! (what you get for buying on line I suppose). Thanks for any advice.

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: Ventilation
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 18:44 »
Lol bubbles ive just moved the duplicate here, Ill delete it now  :D
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

8doubles

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 19:03 »
Any chance of a coop photo bubbles so we can see the problem .

poultrygeist

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2009, 22:17 »
It sounds like you may have to make some repairs and modifications. :(

It is possible to add ventilation along the roofline if you're handy enough but as 8doubles says, we'll need to see it first.
You could maybe lower the perches a bit to give them some extra headroom if need be.

There's always a way round it ! :)

Rob 8)

Welcome to the Hen House btw ! :D

Bubbles

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2009, 11:56 »
Thanks for your replies. I will try to send a pic - with the help of my computer literate family! It may take a few days! I have only had the girls a month and it is taking a lot of time getting everything just so and ironing out problems. But I am really grateful to this forum which is so helpful  :)

Bubbles

« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2009, 21:09 »