Hanging Baskets - Wind resistant plants etc,

• 4 Replies

Muckytyke

Hanging Baskets - Wind resistant plants etc,
« on: October 19, 2011, 17:34 »
Hi, I'm new to this part of the website. :)
I love to have hanging baskets and wall mounted planters filled with spring or summer bedding plants.
In my new home I am finding that high winds cause damage to my plants and also despite my best efforts severely dry out the baskets. I have usually had baskets looking good right through to the first frosts ... but not this year!! >:(
Does anyone share this problem and have a solution? Perhaps some recommendations for wind resistant plants. ???

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Hanging Baskets - Wind resistant plants etc,
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 20:52 »
You really need plants that have thicker leaves, as those with thinner leaves just lose water really quickly when it is very windy, as well as sometimes getting torn too.

How about begonias? The bedding size ones should be fine, and are very pretty.

Smaller flowered petunias would trail and might cope with the wind too  :)
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 17:00 »