When to lime?

• 9 Replies

Minty

• Experienced Member
When to lime?
« on: December 06, 2008, 16:41 »
Iv' got my brassica bed all dug and put in a load of well rotted manure but I know I need to lime the bed as our soil if very acidic,bought a big bag of lime from the plot shop today but I'm not sure when's best to add it?

I read in John's book that autumn is the best time but I missed that and the manure has only been on a week and everyone I asked today wasn't sure either.

penance

When to lime?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2008, 17:01 »
Let the manure settle in for a month or 2, then you can rake in the lime with time let to let it settle.
I added lime to my brassica bed 2 weeks before planting this year and all was well.

Minty

• Experienced Member
When to lime?
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2008, 19:52 »
Thanks penance,Iv' still plenty of time then
 :D

penance

When to lime?
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2008, 20:05 »
I'm no expert and sure others will have more advice.

paintedlady

When to lime?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2008, 03:07 »
If you had heavy claggy clay soil, then liming in autumn/winter will break it up nicely (process called flocculation) in time for spring sowing of crops such as carrots & parsnips.  However, for brassicas you want to raise the pH (and to inhibit clubroot which becomes more active when the weather & soil warms up) so doing that nearer planting time would be much better (in fact putting some lime in the planting hole and round the plant on the top of the soil to leach in during the growing season would be a much more efficient way of doing it than liming the entire bed which would quickly be neutralised by acidic soil)  :wink:
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

fatbelly

When to lime?
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2008, 09:49 »
Quote from: "paintedlady"