Excited, Plot 41 is mine!!

• 15 Replies

srush

« on: August 19, 2008, 22:16 »
Signed all the papers today and handed them in and popped down to the allotment to have a look. There is nothing on it at the moment, just weeds, but not as bad with weeds as I thought!

Its a full size plot, and if I am honest, it's bigger than I thought! (forgot the measuring tape, but as 30 foot by 30 foot so square!)

There is nothing on it (shed or green house wise) but my husband has a new shed to put up in our garden, so will have our current old one down there. He is going to knock a lean to up for me, with a seating area coming off the shed.

I want to do easy things for next year as I am new to this business, but am willing to learn.

I have already got a water butt and compost bin, and a few tools, but just need a strimmer at some point as it has only just been done.

We have got to ask permission to have chickens, so will ask for that soon, but if I am honest, I dont think we will get it, as it seems the plots with chickens are on the outside of the allotment, but our plot is in the middle. But am not fussed either way.

So now I dont know what else to do and where to put anything else.

Does anyone have any plans, or pictures of their plots so I can borrow some ideas please.?

Sorry for going on, but am so excited, but know it is going to be a lot of hard work!

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 22:20 »
Hi :-)

So pleased for you! Mine is a plot 41 too,so I read this thread with a smile

I dont have any plans, only had mine since may so just dug and plonked some stuff in.  The only thing I do know (so far) was that Id always planned to have raised beds, but the soil is so good after not being used or growing for years, that I dont need them (yet!) So dont rush in, and check the quality of your soil first!

Paula