Showing eggs in local show, advice please

• 4 Replies

sally10

• Chickens make me smile everyday !!
Showing eggs in local show, advice please
« on: March 22, 2011, 18:43 »
Hi,

I am interested in taking part in my local horticultural show next month as a novice and I am looking for some advice.
I am no expert hen keeping my any means so I am wondering what is classed as the perfect egg ?
I have looked for photographs on the internet but can't seem to find any?

Also in the "egg" category there are the following sections I am not sure what they mean the others sections I have guessed that three brown hen eggs mean just that !

One hen egg supreme
One hen egg contents

Have you got any other advice or exeriences that might hel?

Thank You in advance.

Sarah

:D

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: Showing eggs in local show, advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 20:00 »
Hi Sarah, I don't know what specific judging criteria might be for the show, but take a look at this link for a starting point: http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps020

It's a US article about eggs for sale, but I imagine the criteria for the 'perfect egg' would be similar at a show.  Things like shape, colour, texture, foreign material on the shell.  If you read the article it explains in detail, but Table 1 also gives a quick overview.

Is there any way you could post a few egg pics here and let us comment?

Good luck at the show!

sally10

• Chickens make me smile everyday !!
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 20:05 »
thanks for that I will take a look, I would post pictures but I am having a technology nightmare at the moment with downloading pictures !!! I still haven't sorted my holiday pics for everyone from Feb !!

D

• Experienced Member
  • Bella
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 12:39 »
I'm also looking at showing some eggs in local shows when it comes to the time. The Poultry Standards Book gives what judges are looking for but is expensive (although I did treat myself to a copy  :wub: ).