Wine Storage

• 3 Replies

Allotment Jon

Wine Storage
« on: February 12, 2009, 09:09 »
I am new to wine making but with excess fruit on the allotment decided to give it a try. Have recently done first 2 kits that are nearing end of fermentation. I was going to bottle 1 gallon and store the other in the fermentation bin in a cuboard as I have been told wine is better when stored in bulk.

Can anyone offer any advice regarding this and also as I have the newer plastic fermentation vessels should I invest in the older glass type when storing for longer periods.

Stripey_cat

Re: Wine Storage
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 10:35 »
You need to store it airtight - a fermentation bucket isn't suitable, but demijohns are.  Food-grade plastic should be perfectly safe, but you need to pay attention to the stoppers - rubber bungs in particular degrade over time, so keep an eye on them.

SG6

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 17:28 »
As stripy said it needs to be airtight.
General method of stopping all fermentation is a cambden tablet per bottle.

Have to wonder why it is best stored in in bulk?
I have no great knowledge of wine storage but all the wine producers make it then bottle it then store it, 75cl bottles.
Seems to have worked for quite a few hundred years now. :)

On the practical side:
Not easy to serve from a demijohn :lol: :lol: :lol:
If you use say half the demijohn then the air could send the remainder off if not used pretty quick.

David.

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 18:07 »
I am new to wine making but with excess fruit on the allotment decided to give it a try. Have recently done first 2 kits that are nearing end of fermentation. I was going to bottle 1 gallon and store the other in the fermentation bin in a cuboard as I have been told wine is better when stored in bulk.
Can anyone offer any advice regarding this and also as I have the newer plastic fermentation vessels should I invest in the older glass type when storing for longer periods.