Newbie - Advice on chicken coop pleeease!

• 24 Replies

sirius951

Newbie - Advice on chicken coop pleeease!
« on: November 21, 2010, 13:01 »
Hi  - I am brand new to all this but taking into account the fact that a lot of suppliers are said to exaggerate how many chickens will comfortably live in a coop and also to take into account I may want to get more chucks in future (intend to start off with 3-4) I thought this coop on ebay looked pretty good.  :unsure:
Giant Delux Poultry House Coop 1.7m x 1.1m CC002H
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280590605898&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
We intend to raise it off the ground on a D.I.Y. timber frame so that nest boxes will be approx waist height and build our own covered run as the coops with integrated runs don't seem to give them much space and we want to have room to add interest inside the coop for the chickens.
I hope some of you won't mind taking the trouble to look and tell me what you think.
All advice more than welcome  :D
« Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 13:15 by sirius951 »

orchardlady

Re: Newbie - Advice on chicken coop pleeease!
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 13:17 »
I've had a quick look at the listing on e bay and I think there might be a couple of questions that would be of use for you to ask the maker. Do the perches come out (they look like they do but it 's worth checking)? Also does the nest box compartment come off for ease of cleaning again they look like they should? If you raise your house on a timber frame just remember that any wood even pressure treated wood will rot if in contact with the damp of the ground. I put all my hen houses up on bricks or breeze blocks.

I cannot offer any opinion on runs as I keep all my chickens free range but remember more space is better than less and if possible try to be able to move the house and run onto clean fresh ground as the earth can become 'hen sick' or poisoned by their very strong poo, also parasites and mould can take hold.