sheep manure

• 7 Replies

rowlandwells

sheep manure
« on: February 18, 2019, 09:44 »
 I've been offered some sheep poo but that's something I've never used before as a general manure because I was under the impression it was very rich in nitrogen although I have used sheep poo in the past in a drum watered down for my tomatoes?

so I was thinking what could I use it on my raised beds or stack it in a heap or mix it with my horse manure so any advise would be most welcome

Goosegirl

Re: sheep manure
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 13:39 »
We used to have sheep and I picked their poo up and put it in a sack which was suspended in a bucket of water. Any poo will be rich in nitrogen so perhaps combine it with shreddings of straw, paper, leaves, lawn clippings or whatever will use it to begin the process of decomposition. How you use it depends on what your soil needs are at the moment. If it's in a good state then pile it up in a heap and cover with a tarpaulin or similar to keep the rain from leaching it out and will also provide heat to accelerate the process.
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator

greenjay

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2019, 20:09 »
is it straight sheep poo or is it mixed with straw from a shed?
mixed with straw treat like any other manure.
if the person has just offered sheep poo they must have been very busy collecting as the volume is no where as great as horse or cow.

snowdrops

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2019, 08:38 »
Manure is manure in my opinion so d just accept it gratefully & compost it until it’s well rotted either mixed in the compost bin to activate the contents or with your cow manure. As I’m sure you know if you turn it regularly it will speed up the process & by the autumn will be ready to mulch wherever you need it
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

rowlandwells

« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2019, 16:42 »