Is my run big enough!

• 13 Replies

tracymitsu

Is my run big enough!
« on: January 30, 2008, 19:37 »
Hi, first let me say what a great and invaluble site :D I am new to keeping chickens (got them today  :D) 2 black rocks, 3 light sussex, 2 bluebelles and 2 white leghorns, all 15-18 weeks old and all reared together (the farmer informed all would be fine together ...so fingers x) The thing is I bought a new coop which houses 8 -10 chickens and which came with an attached run, which I thought would be safer for my chickens as I have 5 cats and a rather large german shepherd dog. The coop is a really good size, the chickens have plenty of room (I checked after they all ran in it 1 by 1 after I got them home). However, about an hour later hunger must of got the better of them  :D as they all ventured into the run for food. This is where I have my concerns, the run is 3ft by 5 ft which I thought would be plenty big enough, but my new little family members don't look like they have much room  :( . I was wondering, do I need to extend the run, or am I just being an over worrying 'new' chicken owner  :?

Any advice greatly appreciated (and needed  :D )

x x x  :D  x x x

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Is my run big enough!
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 19:52 »
Hi and welcome to the forum  :D

general consensus puts the room a single hen needs as 1m x 1m or 3'3" x3'3", so a 5 x 3 run IMHO is too small. Yes they will look a little overcrowded. Perhaps you could make them something bigger ?

the bigger the run the better off they will be, you may want to also consider covering some of the run from the rain.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Selkie

Is my run big enough!
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 19:55 »
I'm getting up on my soap box (again) but if you can please please please make it bigger.

They'll be much happier in a larger run :D

Forgot to say -- welcome!!