Cutting back a rampant blackberry

• 5 Replies

Martin Ellis

Cutting back a rampant blackberry
« on: September 15, 2020, 22:16 »
Hi There, Im a newbie at the allotment game. have just taken over a double plot that is / was massively overgrown. It already had some established fruit bushes such as blackcurrants and gooseberries but also a huge bank of balckberries streching across the whole width of one plot, its getting on for seven feet high and around 20 yards across! It has huge, tall nettles growing through it as well. However, it has fruited massivly and we have a good supply of fruit in the freezer ready for pies, crumbles and jams. My question is how far should i cut this thing back to get it under control again, without damaging the plant and ruining the fruiting for next year, I also need to remove those huge nettles and dig them out. Any advice or guidance would be fabulous.

Russell Atterbury

• Experienced Member
Re: Cutting back a rampant blackberry
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2020, 05:29 »
I'm new to vegetable growing myself, but getting blackberry down and in control i have been doing since childhood with my father (to earn a few bob as pocket money from anyone who needed it done) We started by  attacking with a spade from anywhere you could get at, and it does come down quite well. Once it's down quite low, you then have to dig root out any way you can. And it might be a case of banging lengths of angle iron in the ground and levering them up, often with a brick behind the lever to stop it pushing into the soil so much. When you get going, it comes good reasonably fast, until it,s the size and shape required. You will not do the berry that's left any harm at all, in fact, it will year on year keep trying to invade the patch you are cultivating......better to get shot of the lot maybe?

Hungry Caterpillar

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2020, 07:29 »
What I would do is this: