How can i grow tastier earlies?

• 21 Replies

Booboo79

How can i grow tastier earlies?
« on: June 24, 2013, 23:09 »
Hi,
New to this site so apologies if this has been asked before.  I am growing a crop of earlies and while I thought the first batch I dug up last week tasted great, my mother in law didn't agree ( and she's usually not the type to be negative!)  Any advice on what I can add to the soil now or before I plant seed potatoes next year to give them more flavour? Or is it likely I have chosen the wrong variety (I can't remember which variety at the moment)? This is my first year as an allotment holder and veg grower so all advice welcome!

Sparkyrog

Re: How can i grow tastier earlies?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2013, 23:14 »
Taste is all down to variety ,they are all different some waxy some floury :)
I cook therefore I grow

solway cropper

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2013, 23:29 »
Try growing Lady Christl...many of us swear that they are the tastiest. But, as sparky says, it's all down to variety and what does well in my garden might be no good in yours. No easy answer I'm afraid so you'll just have to try different varieties till you find the right one for your conditions.

BabbyAnn

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 03:40 »
another to agree that it is down to experimenting with different varieties and your soil - I grew International Kidney (the proper name for Jersey Royals outside of Jersey) and they were the most tasteless potato ever, followed closely behind with Rocket.  My all time favourite is Arran Pilots but this year giving Lady Christl a try after so many good reviews .. am waiting in anticipation, not long now  ...  :)

You could try digging in well rotted manure into the soil in autumn

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 04:49 »