Quail

• 29 Replies

Mulberry1990

• Experienced Member
Quail
« on: October 02, 2010, 22:37 »
I collected my six new Quail today, but when I went to put them to bed they all became very flighty and one has cut her head.
I've never had Quail before, so i'm not sure if they peck each other the same way chickens do?
Does anybody know if I need to do anything for her to make sure she's okay?
She's still active and doesn't seem to be in any pain.
Thanks =)
4 Dogs: Stanley, Oscar, Borris and Scraps, 8 chickens: Prada, Mulberry, Alessi, Apple, Dior, Bobbi, Eve and Fendi, 2 Guinea Pigs: Rupert and Milo, 3 Rabbits: Louis, Daisy and Charlie 2 Fish: Sandy and Pebbles, 6 Quail

noshed

Re: Quail
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 23:11 »
I'm no expert but I've moved this to a more feathery environment
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

Chookiechook

• riverside quails
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 23:32 »
Quail will peck each other just as badly if not worse than a chicken :(  You would be bettter to put her on her own till it is healed and then carefully reintroduce her.

Quail heal fast and well but are brutal :(

They will jump and leap in the air when startled and are best kept either in low roofed housing or very high..... and then with a  soft mesh rather than wire top..... they need to not be able to build up speed when they jump in the air :)
I love Pekins, Polands and Seramas :) and eggs!!!

Caralou

• Family Member.
    • Lowcostliving
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2010, 01:05 »