asparagus’

• 11 Replies

colinc

asparagus’
« on: May 09, 2011, 21:57 »
I have planted 3 asparagus’ plants in a small prepared bed , all the that’s happened the 3 plants have produced single steams  which are very thin and have fern like foliage is this right. I am a newbie to vegetable gardening.  Do I just let them grow like this.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 22:09 by colinc »

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: asparagus’
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 22:06 »
That's often about the best they can manage in their first year; however many or few there are just leave them to it and practise being very patient (it's worth it in the end!)  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

mrsparkle

• Experienced Member
    • Wonderland Tea Parties
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2011, 22:34 »
I planted my crowns about 3 weeks ago and my plants are exactly as you describe. I think a few of the crowns may have begun sprouting secondary stems but they are all very spindly.  I wouldn't panic if I was you.

pink aubergine

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 07:33 »
They need lots of water and feed during the growing season, then it builds up the crown ready for subsequent seasons.

Old Tom

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 07:54 »
What`s the best thing to feed then with?
I can remember when it were all fields round `ere.

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2011, 08:55 »
Any general purpose fertiliser will do (just be very careful when you hoe it in; the spears are very precious and although the roots are extensive they also grow quite near the surface.)

Alastair-I

• Experienced Member
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2011, 09:20 »