New to allotment and looking for advice :-)

• 26 Replies

FarmerRich

New to allotment and looking for advice :-)
« on: July 21, 2013, 13:15 »
Hi all

I've recently been lucky enough to acquire an allotment from my local council.  It's 12m X 10m so a nice starter plot.

When I got the plot it was 5ft high in weeds and grass which I have strimmed right down and killed with roundup.  I'm just wondering what my next move should be?  If the weeds have been killed is it safe to rotivate or should I take the top few inches off by hand digging first?

All advice is welcome as I'm a newbie to this and want to make a decent job of it.

Many thanks in advance,
Rich

Beetroot queen

Re: New to allotment and looking for advice :-)
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 13:18 »
We still dug ours out by hand even after roundup, the people who took on a plot at the same time did roundup and then rotavated it soon regretted it.

If its worth doing properly i would dig out the roots too.

Tea Break

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 16:16 »
Hi Rich and welcome.
 If it was me i would hand dig and get to know what your soil feels like. It also feels more of an achivement when hand digging and you get fit with out going down the gym :D :D.  A rotervator just chops up the weeds and some of them come back with a vengence.
 Enjoy your plot which ever way you go.
Mike.

Capt Zero

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 16:22 »
Got to agree with the other answers, dig and take out any roots you see.
"From man’s sweat and God’s love, beer came into the world."
–Saint Arnold of Metz, The patron Saint of Brewers

FarmerRich

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 16:23 »
Thanks for the advice Beetroot Queen / Tea Break.

I think I'll go with your advice and dig out a bit at a time and get it ready for next year.  The soil is very hard and clay like at the moment so I've laid a large amount of black plastic over half of the plot to try and rot away the grass.