green manure

• 6 Replies

Pablo

green manure
« on: September 26, 2006, 11:59 »
hi,i'm just about to sow some green manure into two raised beds.I have two different kinds; mustard (kingston) and winter tares (english early).It says on the packet that the mustard is related to brassicae family and the winter tares related to field beans and legumes.I'm not sure whether that means that i should sow the mustard in the bed that i intend to put brassicas in or not!....can anyone help me on this matter? Cheers!
p
ps any advice about green manure would be greatly appreciated ( this is my first time!)
Brighton,East Sussex
Vegan Organic

milkman

green manure
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 16:56 »
Hallo Pablo, I suggest you don't sow the mustard in the area to be followed by brassicas, not sure it's quite so important for the winter tares.  

Also it could be useful finding out if club root is a problem in the locality - if it is I'd advise against sowing mustard altogether.

Have just read the seed catalogue that winter tares will be good planted in the area where you plan to grow brassicas as it will supply them with lots of useful nitrogen.

So maybe sow the mustard in an area where you later plan to plant potatoes?

Good luck!
Gardening organically on chalky, stony soil.

Martin

• Experienced Member
green manure
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2006, 23:59 »
Hello Pablo,
I found a useful article about green manure at the GardenOrganic (HDRA) site here
Martin

oggy

green manure
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2006, 13:15 »
Hi all,

Have heard about winter Tares..............what are they and where do I get some ?

oggy

milkman

green manure
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 14:11 »
They are a type of vetch which I think fix nitrogen - the organic gardening catalogue stocks the seed.