Hens not laying... help!

• 6 Replies

Button07

Hens not laying... help!
« on: November 14, 2009, 21:13 »
Hi All,

I am the first to admit I am a novice in the chicken keeping world and am in need of some advice from all you experts out there!

I have two Rhode Islands Reds which have both not laid since July. The main reason I think was that I was unlucky enough to be infested with Red mites, which throughout August/September I was battling to see the back of. This involved constantly powdering the girls and disinfecting the hut and also replacing the roosting bars. It was the most unpleasant experience that do not wish to repeat!

At the time I thought I had cured the initial egg laying problem by seeing the back of the mites in September, little did I know that they would then start to loose feathers. I am not sure if this was a malting thing or linked to the mites. This soon stopped though and again but still no eggs.

The only other thing that I have noticed which could be a link is that post mite problem they have insisted in sleeping in the nest box and not roosting on the new bars, I assume because they now associate roosting with getting bitten by mites.

I feed them organic egg layers pellets and lots of scraps from the kitchen. Do you think it is a diet thing and that I should forget the scraps?

I would be grateful for any help

:unsure:

Vember

Re: Hens not laying... help!
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 21:22 »
Hi Buttons

Welcome to the Hen House :)

Firstly are you sure that you have got rid of the redmites? Have you checked the girls over particularly round their vent to check they haven't got any creepy crawlies like lice.

Were they point of lay when you got them?

I would knock all scraps on the head and just feed layers for now, are they ok in all other respects? ie eye's bright, doing normal chickeny things, poops normal etc...

Sarah :)

themagicaltoad1

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 21:24 »