mint jelly possible problem

• 5 Replies

soaplady

mint jelly possible problem
« on: August 12, 2009, 07:50 »
Hi,
This is my first attempt to make mint jelly, and I think I might have a problem, albeit a very small one.
I picked up my windfalls yesterday, and followed the recipe in Vals book. I added mint, and cooked the apples to a pulp, and hung it in my jelly bag off of my kitchen cupboard handles to drip. It has been there since about 10.30 yesterday morning until now, and there is about 1/2 a pint of juice in there.

The query I have is that the bag is still glistening and moist (haven't touched it, but boy am I tempted), but the juice that seems to be dripping out (not!) is quite thick, not how I thought it would be.
Should I leave it there for another day, or did i cook the apples too long, or maybe it was the type of apples I have used. They are the eaters with a couple of large cookers that have fell off the tree.

Really disappointed as I was hopiing for lots of jars of gorgeous mint jelly, and I think I will be hard pushed to get one!

Any advice would be gratefully received
Soaplady

HelenK

Re: mint jelly possible problem
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 09:21 »
When making jellies you would usually take the juice that has dripped through the jelly bag and put it back into a clean pan, add the same amount of sugar and bring back to the boil for a while before testing for the setting point.

The recipe here does seem to suggest this -

http://www.allotment-garden.org/recipe/135/mint-jelly-recipe/

soaplady

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 10:03 »
Hi Helen,

Yes I am talking about the juice that has dripped through.  I thought a lot more juice would have come through by now, but there isn't very much there at all for 1.5kg apples.

Perhaps I am being a little over optimistic about the amount that would come through, but I thought the recipe implied that more than  1/2 pint would drip through overnight. :(