seedling help

• 10 Replies

nitiram

seedling help
« on: April 18, 2006, 08:48 »
This is my first year on a lottie...normally at home I put a small pinch of seeds in a plant pot on the window sill then plant outside in a large tub and everything grows quite happily......but, now I have a small plastic 'greenhouse' and nothing wants to grow properly. I read the seed packets and sowed my seeds in teither trays or small pots ,, watered, waited for seeds to come up...which most of them have done. (the chillies seem to have gone to austrailia though...no sign of them at all). But now it seems that within  a day all the tops have dropped off and there is thick green moss growing on top of the compost....HELP     what has happened here. ??????    Is my 'greenhouse' too wet/ hot/ air tight??   Do I have to leave the door open a bit? Cover seeds with plastic bags?   or wot??

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
seedling help
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 09:45 »
I think the clue is in the mould on the top of the compost - too wet. Overwatering is one of the biggest killers of seedlings and many potted plants.

We've had this problem using a different compost this year - in hindsight, the exact science - I should have added some perlite to it so it would drain better.

As for the chillies, I suspect too cold at night. Big problem with greenhouses is that they get too hot in the day and don't hold temperature at night.

You need to open windows in the day and close at night. My solar ventilator is really a back up as I'm not about at sunrise to open the windows.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

nitiram

seedling help
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2006, 15:01 »