Info on Oyster shell please

• 13 Replies

trinacooke

• www.freewebs.com/trinacooke
Info on Oyster shell please
« on: February 12, 2009, 20:07 »
Hi all,

A bit of advice please, as I am a newbie, I am learning all the time and brought myself a book on chicken keeping before we got our girls last year - now this book said that it is best not to give Oyster shell as a supliment to chickens diets as it can cause chickens to become egg bound! now reading on this forum on several occaisions many of you say it is a must!?? my girls are laying 2 eggs a day at the moment they are about 32 weeks old now the eggs have good hard shells and the chooks seem very healthy, I do bake the shells of the eggs I have used in the oven and crush them for the girls and they do take these ......

So am I doing right or wrong they have grit at all times and their layers pellets then in the afternoon they have a big bowl of boiled veg trimmings (some fruit/brown bread) and a hand full of mixed corn before bed.

all the best and thanx Trina
Breeder, Judge & Exhibitor of Quality Netherland Dwarf, Hulstlander & Himalayan Rabbits

4x chickens 30x rabbits, 2x dogs, 15x ferrets oh and 2 children and a hubby!!!!!

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Re: Info on Oyster shell please
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 20:23 »
I always give mine oyster shell, never had a problem. :)
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Vember

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2009, 20:29 »
Helps their bones as well as producing the egg shell :)

The way I see it is ...
If the birds don't get extra calcium all they get out of their food goes towards the egg, they'll then get weak brittle bones.
This can also work in reverse and the calcium goes to their bones and then you get the soft shelled eggs .

Always give mine oyster shell :D

Sarah :D

Rhode Runner

• The Poultry Garden
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 20:53 »