Growing flowers all year round

• 6 Replies

trogg

Growing flowers all year round
« on: October 17, 2009, 00:34 »
Hi all,
 on my allotments most of the plot-holders grow flowers at the front, I was thinking of doing the same.
What bulbs can I plant to get flowers all year round ? or it it just a case of going through my catalogues and working out which seeds to buy and planting them as and when ? 
any idea's ? I am putting in my vegetable seed order in to my allotment society on Sunday (Kings catalogue) , haven't looked at the flowers yet as it has taken me 6 weeks to choose my veg seeds  :wacko:

As you may of guessed, I'm new to all this.

boing boing

DavidT

Re: Growing flowers all year round
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2009, 18:51 »
I`d be inclined to buy flowering that I like, " in season ". And build up the bed like that.
 :D

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2009, 18:58 »
I`d be inclined to buy flowering that I like, " in season ". And build up the bed like that.

If you go to the garden centre and buy a couple of plants that are in flower every few months you will end up with flowers all year and the outlay gets spread out a bit.
It is a lot of work to grow a border all from seed at the same time as sowing all the veg you need for the plot as wel :ohmy:l... I know I tried it 3 years ago, and either flowers or veg ...something has to suffer! :(

trogg

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2009, 18:39 »
Thanks both for your suggestions  :) and sorry for my late reply ,

I have decided to take it one step at a time, get all the veg beds ready first, then if I have enough time I'll start on the flower area.

It's just that I got my plot 2 months ago and the kids can't understand why I haven't got anything growing in it apart from a few weeds  :(  I thought a few flowers would keep them happy.

DavidT

« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2009, 19:13 »
Thanks both for your suggestions  :) and sorry for my late reply ,