Help identifying tomato problem

• 5 Replies

burningmatt

Help identifying tomato problem
« on: April 19, 2011, 15:38 »
Hi,

I'm completely new to growing veg, and my tomatoes appear to be going wrong.  Maybe I'm just being rubbish but I can't figure out the problem from info I've found online.

Can anyone experienced help please?

The leaves, starting with the oldest, are turning brown from the edge in.  On some of the plants the second set of leaves is starting to go, but not uniformly from the edge - there are some small darker spots showing as well.  There are no yellow halos, just brown.  On the worst affected plant all the newer leaves have a very slight thin brown edge to them.

The first plant to show signs did so early on, pretty much immediately after first potting on.  Something had happened to the growing point - looked like it had snapped off - so I thought maybe it was a fungal infection it had picked up from the air.  It's still surviving, kept well away from the other plants, but is smaller - however this is at least partly because it's been outside for over a month in all weathers while the others were in a growhouse.

Any hints would be gratefully received!

Thanks

Matt

The others have started to show it in the last week.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 16:05 by Aunt Sally »

Lardman

Re: Help identifying tomato problem
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 15:45 »
No idea what the weather is like there but its far too cold for tomato plants to be outside at night here. Anything less than 10 and they sulk , yours looks like its having a major tantrum.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2011, 16:00 »
I've added the pictures to your post burningmatt.

We do prefer pictures to links please :)

burningmatt

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2011, 16:44 »