Phone advice please

• 7 Replies

mrs bouquet

Phone advice please
« on: October 13, 2021, 12:25 »
But please use simple words, that I can understand LOL.

What is the difference between an I phone and Android phone,  and what does ie:   40 G mean  ?  Thanks Mrs Bouquet
Birds in cages do not sing  -  They are crying.

Hampshire Hog

Re: Phone advice please
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2021, 13:42 »
Simple bit first
An iPhone is a mobile phone from Apple
An Android phone is one by any other manufacturer
These two types of phones use different so called operating systems.
By 40G I assume you mean 4G it’s just a description of the signal strength you are getting in an area from your carrier eg Vodafone. I find it’s normally 4G but can drop to 3G. I’m no expert though on the exact implications of 4G vs 3G I assume it refers to speed.
Hope this helps
Any IT expert feel free to clarify further!
Cheers HH
Keep digging

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2021, 14:08 »
An iPhone is a mobile phone from Apple , but is more like a small computer, with the many functions it has.
All the youngsters in my family prefer the iphone for the games, Aps and film screening etc.
An Android phone doesn't have as many functions and, in my opinion, is easier to get the hang of - I've tried both and prefer Android. Stig bought me an iphone, lastyear - but when it died (dropped it in the bath  ::)) I went back to Android.
So opinions will differ  :D

Lardman

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2021, 15:39 »
Are you getting a new phone Mrs b? If so it's best to stick with the ecosystem you're used to. If you have an iphone or other apple devices (do you still have an ipad?) stick with those.  Do you want to do something specific with it or are you just being forced into the upgrade as everything wants a smart phone.

mrs bouquet

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2021, 16:16 »