Carrots - how to grow?

• 10 Replies

Zippy

Carrots - how to grow?
« on: May 07, 2010, 18:18 »
I have light sandy soil on the lotty and have tried direct sowing - not one has come up.

I tried sowing singly into toilet rolls - limited success.

The thing is i would have thought Carrots should be one of the easiest things to grow but I find better success with Parsnips!

I know about keeping Carrot Fly off and all that but how to get the damn things to germinate would be a good start.

Manlea1

• Experienced Member
Re: Carrots - how to grow?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 18:25 »
Im having a hard time myself with carrots so your not alone  :(

Lupin lurcher

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 18:38 »
Hi mine took about 25 days to germinate, now they are up and away and looking very good. Sorry can`t help more this is my first year on the allotment.

strangerachael

• Weedybeanz
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 19:23 »
It sounds daft but I try not to even look for at least two weeks, they are like the proverbial watched pot. They can take a very long time but keep the soil moist and they should show eventually
Rachael

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 19:42 »
Yup, parsnip, carrot, and parsley are all from the same plant family and are all slow germinators, especially in the less than ideal conditions we are experiencing at the moment.

Don't despair; they'll make it eventually (as will something resembling summer!  8) )
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

jimmytheshed

« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2010, 19:59 »