Weeding by hand......

• 47 Replies

The Red Baron

• Total newbie to all this green lark but willing!
Weeding by hand......
« on: November 02, 2013, 08:01 »
Morning all.....
Little background, got my 12 rod plot in late July. Hadn't been used for years! Totally over run, anyway, sprayed the lot, strimmed it and knocked all the tips off....but now. Lordy those nettles have roots! Any advice on weeding by hand? It's going to take me forever to dig the garden over! Anywho, thought I'd ask.

dugless

Re: Weeding by hand......
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2013, 08:08 »
What did you spray them with. if it was glyphorsate. then you don't have to worry about the nettle roots, they will be dead. you will just have the usual Annual weeds to deal with.
Time is more precious than Gold
Spend it Wisely

allotmentann

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2013, 08:42 »
Weeding by hand is really not that bad. The trick is to focus on small patches rather than a whole plot. I have never used any weed killer. If you remove weeds and roots thoroughly to start with, you will get very little re growth of perennial weeds. Annuals,of course, will self sow whether you pull by hand or use weed killer and will always need keeping in check.
It may be as Dugless said and the roots are dead. I would just take it slowly, digging it over bit by bit and covering or mulching as you go.
It may simply be that your soil is still very hard after the lovely summer, my soil is only just starting to soften enough to make digging easier. Three or four weeks ago I was struggling to get a fork in, now it is fine.   :)

Sweetpea C

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2013, 08:55 »
I went for the hand dig option and its actually very rewarding to get the critters out. I do enough space for one raised bed at a time then it's not too damaging on the back. You are lucky that you have plenty if time before you start sowing or planting. I'm about half way through mine now :)