Painting raised beds........

• 3 Replies

The Red Baron

• Total newbie to all this green lark but willing!
Painting raised beds........
« on: May 16, 2013, 14:54 »
Afternoon all, hope the sun is out wherever you may be.
Right.....still not on my plot, the guy who has it is in no hurry to remove his bits and bobs...but hey ho, I can wait.
Anyway, I'm knee deep in my planning and design stage....I'm planning in using raised beds within the plot..and I'm just wondering...what is the best treatment to use on the wood that will form the beds? Just so I can start pricing bits and pieces up,
Thanks in advanc

Tony

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
Re: Painting raised beds........
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 15:00 »
You're as well off as anything using tanalised timber something like 4 x 1, which will probably come in 4.8 metre lengths, that way you don't need to paint it with anything. Being tanalised it is treated and wears well against the elements and damp ground. Some people are a bit nervous about having this near their food, but it isn't in direct contact. If you're really worried, you could put a plastic barrier in between the timber andsoil, but it really isn't a problem.

:)
"They say a snow year's a good year" -- Rutherford.

Chrysalis

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2013, 20:09 »
Mine are made of gravel boards and are just crates really, within which are polypropolene bags for the veggies.