Good year for spuds.....

• 21 Replies

RJR_38

• www.foodinmytum.com
Good year for spuds.....
« on: June 28, 2014, 22:10 »
So dug up more of my second earlies. I have 5 1/2 rows plus 2 1/2 of maincrop. I dug up 2 rows today and had just over 12 kilos of spuds-loads more than last year! Think we will be eating lots of potato based meals....

Tracybutton

• Experienced Member
Re: Good year for spuds.....
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2014, 22:25 »
Yes , its my first time growing veg this season and I've put far too many in ! I've still got two rows of first earlies to be pulled and we've been eating them nearly every night for a fortnight  :D
Then it's two rows of second earlies...they will be like jacket spuds by the time I get to them. Loads on each plant too. I think it's all the horse muck that was put on in November, about six inches of the stuff  all over the plot to help kill the weeds.

AnneB

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2014, 22:27 »
Miserable year round here as all my first and second earliess succumbed to blight.  I took a few to eat straight away, the rest are in the ground until next week.  The maincrop seem small, but so far blight free.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2014, 22:32 »
So dug up more of my second earlies. I have 5 1/2 rows plus 2 1/2 of maincrop. I dug up 2 rows today and had just over 12 kilos of spuds-loads more than last year! Think we will be eating lots of potato based meals....

I've not started on my second earlies yet, but why did you dig up that many rows? I would not have thought they would have been mature enough for lifting for storage - mine certainly are not - and it's a lot to use as immature "new" potatoes. They would have been better lifted as you wanted to use them.

What do you call a "row" it varies from plot to plot. For me it's about 10 metres.