unwanted roosters

• 12 Replies

elaine

unwanted roosters
« on: August 29, 2007, 16:36 »
hi. i am very new to poultry keeping and need some advice. I have an eglu for 3 chickens and have been given an incubator so i am really keen to get some eggs to start my poultry-keeping journey. however, i dont know what to do if i end up with a lot of roosters. is there a humane way to dispatch them as I could not wring their necks having hatched them as chicks. What do people do with excess males?  :?

Bodger

unwanted roosters
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 16:53 »
Certain crosses of chickens are actually sex linked . This means that all the males will come out one colour and the females another. This means that you have the option of killing the cock chicks as day olds and there by avoiding spending money on food for them.
The other option is to fatten the cockerels up and to eat them.

Its not everyone of course who can bring themselves to do this and in your case I would suggest that you go to a reputable breeder and buy some ready sexed chicks. The breeder will of course be left to sort out the male birds in a way that he sees fit but it will avoid you having to do the evil deed.
Its unfortunately a fact of life that many millions of unwanted male chicks are euthenased every year and that there's no way around it.

elaine

unwanted roosters
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2007, 18:47 »
thanks i appreciate the advice. have seen sex-linked chix advertised and obvious answer is to buy young chix but if i want to incubate the eggs it is not such an easy option. what is the most humane way to euthanase the males as i haven't the heart to wring their necks? will prob have to be complete wuss and give them to the vet to put down.... pathetic eh?!

KathyH

• Experienced Member
unwanted roosters
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 19:27 »
<alert - not for the squeamish>