Baby chicks.....help!!! What do I do??? What do I need?

• 39 Replies

redmolly

• Experienced Member
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to all this chicken keeping and need advice.
We've had 4 hens for a few months (as I'm unfortunately off work - recovering from a broken back!!). They are great layers, have had mites, been eggbound & cropbound - so am pretty all ok with that and entertain me on a daily basis!!!!!
Anyway - one went broody and much to my husbands surprise (shock and horror) - I went out and got 6 eggs....To cut a long story short - she's now sat on 10 eggs and has been for 12 days. She's separate from the others.
However they are gonna arrive before I know it and I don't know what I need. So all advice would be much appreciated!!
What do they eat...... and for how long???
When do they get introduced to the rest of the flock????
etc etc etc!!!
Thanks in advance!!!!  :D

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Baby chicks.....help!!! What do I do??? What do I need?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 21:21 »
You need chick crumbs either unmedicated if you are organic or medicated if not, a shallow dish for water and some marbles or similar to put into the dish to prevent the chicks drowning. Some people put a sheet of material (e.g. old bedding) over the shavings for a couple of days. I kept mine seperate for about 2 weeks and then let them roam (mine are all free range) with the others. Mum will defend them from the others if she needs to. Most of all though you will need a CAMERA  :D
Staffies are softer than you think.

redmolly

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 15:01 »
Ooh thanks - I was worried about the drowning issue!!! Will get all prepared now!! Camera is ready and waiting too!!! Thank you!!!

::) ::) ::)

darcyhen

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 15:33 »
Hi,
Mine are 5/6 weeks now! You'll get loads of helpful advice here. But don't worry when there's a broody hen involved it seems to be a lot easier and less problematic than using an incubator.