Telescopic dilema

• 4 Replies

Kleftiwallah

Telescopic dilema
« on: September 07, 2020, 20:39 »
Good evening everyone (still up at this hour).
10 to 15 years ago I worked as a maintenance chap in a factory, I showed an interest in astronomy with another chap.  To cut a long story shorter he had a "Dark Star"  newtonian telescope 'in the shed gatheringh dust' and he lent it to me to get an idea about star gazing and help me decide if I wanted to purchase my own.

With the proton beam therapy to halt the growth of an ocular melanoma I am now left with a 'shredded' retina in my viewing eye and I can no longer use the telescope.  I have had no contact with this chap since the factory shut down and he never made it clear if the telescope was a long term loan or a gift.  It now sits in the corner of our conservatory taking up space (it's about 7" long and 2 1/2" wide).

The dilema,  I have tried to contact him with no joy and would like to hand on the telescope to another star gazer.    What to do ?

Cheers,  Tony.

I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

DanielCoffey

Re: Telescopic dilema
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2020, 07:11 »
Is there a local "dark skies" forum or group in your area? You could explain the situation to them and if they don't have any better contact details for the original owner you could offer to donate it to them as a prize in a "new/young member lucky draw".

Growing Weather

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2020, 07:45 »
I passed my Dobbo on to a local astronomical society. They were grateful to take it off my hands.

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2020, 11:17 »
Excellent ideas both,  I'll do it.

Cheers,  Tony.

Growster...

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2020, 14:39 »
Glad you're being sorted, KW!