Help I just lost a young hen

• 9 Replies

Porkpie

Help I just lost a young hen
« on: May 11, 2010, 21:28 »
I'm looking for help to why one of my young Blackrock hens, about 32 wks old, who up until today was very healthy. I noticed she was very quiet, sat in corner of our large pen, i offered her food and she slowly moved into the roost and sat in a laying box.  I left her in there for about an hour and collected her and brought in the house.  When i picked her up the edge of her feathers felt dry, whislt carry her in, she pooed on my leg and noticed it was clear.  I brought her in the house, she was pretty lifeless, but her eyes were open and moving. I went outside to check the area where she pooed on me and oberserved it to be clear with a white streak about an inch long, i'm wondering if this was a tape worm.  Within the hour she died.  Can anybody offer me any advice on what happened to her, I am new to keeping chickens, she was one of my original hens I bought at point of lay.

TeaPots

Re: Help I just lost a young hen
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 21:58 »
chickens do wee, which looks a bit as you describe. Tape worm usually appear as segments, and are called 'tape' worm because they look more like tape than a worm. Did she have a full crop, was she thin under all her feathers? Has she laid for you at all? eggbound? need more info honey

And by the way...welcome to the forum, sorry it was something sad to get u to join us  :(

Porkpie

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2010, 22:04 »
Hi teapot

thanks for the welcome.  I did'nt check her crop, I can still do so.  She was never a big bird but I would'nt say she was thin, I'm pretty sure she layed yesterday, but probably not today.  How can I tell if she was eggbound?

Porkpie

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2010, 22:08 »
 It seems her crop was pretty full. 

TeaPots

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2010, 23:41 »