RE growing with children

• 8 Replies

rosyapple

RE growing with children
« on: January 17, 2012, 09:28 »
HI I am a manager of a nursery school and we havesome plots in which we grow our own vegetables, we have been doing this with the children for the past couple of years and would like to expand and vary what we grow, can anyone help us. :nowink: thank you

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
Re: RE growing with children
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2012, 09:50 »
Hello rosyapple, welcome to the site.

What do you grow just now and whereabouts in the world are you? (someone's bound to ask you to put your location in your profile (click on your name and go to Forum Profile Information), so I'll just mention it now).

I would have thought that it would be best to stick to the same things (within a variety) of veg so that you are fairly consistent each year, for example grow cabbages and caulis with one year and sprouts and kale with another year etc so that you get the variety but not additional work to do.

Pumpkins always go down well, but they take an awful long time to mature and still won't be ready when the kids go into Reception class (or do you look after both nursery and reception like they do in some schools?).

The obvious things are salad things, particularly radishes, but I have yet to find a tot that likes radishes!

Also, how about some rosy apple trees?  ;) that way they can watch from the blossom to the fruitlets and to harvesting.

Others will be along with some better suggestions soon.

Su

rosyapple

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2012, 10:19 »
Hi
thank you for your reply we are in Lancashire and the children that we look after are babies to pre-school. in the past we have grown carrotts, courgettes, tomatoes and potatoes. as we have sweet potatoes on our menu we are thinking of having a go with these do you have any advice?  :nowink:

RobertSongs

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2012, 10:37 »