Buying a new shed - should I insulate it?

• 11 Replies

vodster

Buying a new shed - should I insulate it?
« on: March 09, 2011, 13:10 »
I will soon be buying a new 8'x6' tongue and groove apex shed for the allotment and was just looking to guage opinion on whether to insulate it or not.

My idea is to insulate it with bubble wrap upon construction (so I don't have to turf out the contents later) and to install blackout blinds  over the 2 windows (well, construct crude blinds out of blackout lining material!) so that it could be used more efficiently as storage for the root veg over winter. I'd be looking to store the usual... spuds, carrots, onions, parsnips and garlic.

Also, should I creosote the interior as well as the exterior?

As you may have gathered, I am a relative newbie to this GYO mallarkey and am bumbling around blindly most of the time! Any thoughts/tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gareth.

Thrift

Re: Buying a new shed - should I insulate it?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2011, 15:09 »
Hi Gareth,

You may find it makes a lovely warm haven for mice ..... it's so difficult to stop them getting in.

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 16:12 »
I lost all my ovetwintered spuds because they were stored in my shed. I'm not sure bubblewrap will stop extreme cold getting in. I'm thinking of buying a parafin frost heater that, apparently keeps the chill off and lasts 2 weeks between fills.
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2011, 16:28 »
Don't know where you live Gareth (feel free to introduce yourself in "Welcome" and please add your approximate location to your personal site profile) but if we get another winter like the last one with temperatures below freezing night and day then no amount of insulation will protect stored produce.