Poll

Would you buy a planter that utilises a small outdoor space, allowing you to grow vegetables, whilst at the same time reducing the number of planters needed to just one?

Yes
6 (30%)
No
9 (45%)
Not to sure
5 (25%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Voting closed: November 18, 2008, 21:22

Help a student gardener design a planter

• 32 Replies

Uni Gem

« on: October 19, 2008, 22:22 »
HI I am Uni Gem

I am a university student, training to be a secondary school design technology teacher and I need help!

I love gardening, mainly veg growing.  I am currently trying to design a product as part of my uni course. I'm focusing my project on, growing your own vegetables, in small out door areas, such as, a balcony.

I have some ideas, as I grown my own vegetable but I need to carry out some market research for my design folder, and thought that a forum would be the ideal way to get ideas.  What I need is your comments on what you would want from a planter in a small outdoor space.

No matter where you live or the size of your garden, all your comments are needed!  What features would YOU like to have in your ideal planter if you could have it made to suite your needs.  Also what veg. would you want to grow in it?

I need comments on:

Size, style (rustic, modern etc), materials (plastic, wood, metal), would you like it to be self watering, what colour (bright, earthy, etc), would it like it to be made from recycled materials, how much you would be prepared to spend on it.

Please, please, please help!!!!!
Many thanks
Gemma:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 15:14 »
Hi Gemma

I've edited your post a little to make it easier to read and hopefully you'll get lots of useful replies.

If I needed a planter to grow my veg in it might be because I had a mobility problem, so I'd like it to be at a height that would mean I don't have to bend much to look after it  :D

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 15:27 »