Limping Hen

• 5 Replies

stujem

Limping Hen
« on: April 14, 2011, 21:47 »
Hi all, since Monday one of my hens started to limp, I don't know why but my 5 year old said it jumped off a log but the log was only a foot high, if that was the reason? She is eating, drinking and still laying her eggs. and still run's with a hop & a limp when I get the meals worms out! She go's to bed ok but now sleeps on the floor, which I don't mind because of her leg. Can a chicken heal itself? I have checked her leg by moving it and she does not mind, I checked her foot and she can grasp ok and will stand on both legs but slighly leaning to the side which looks like she is not putting her full weight on the one leg.  Has anybody had a chicken with a limp? if so did the hen recover ok? Is there anything I should check for as I am no expert. Any advice/suggustions gratefully received.
Stu

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: Limping Hen
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 22:41 »
Sorry to hear about your limping hen, Stu.

It sounds like you've given her a good checking over - well done.  The only thing you didn't mention is whether you checked the pad on the underside of her foot.  Look at all the soft tissue under there and see if you can see any damage to the skin, the webbing between the toes or anything else.  Particularly note if there's a hard scab or sore as this could indicate a condition called 'bumblefoot'.

Like us, a hen can recover from minor sprains or scratches.  But if there's broken skin and infection sets in, it can get much more complicated.

Let us know how you get on.

stujem

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 23:05 »
Thank you for your reply, I have felt her pads and looked to see if there was any damage and all seems well. What I will do tomorrow is that I wil get my wife to hold her and I will get right in there to have a very close look and feel. I may have missed something as I was holding her and looking at the same time.

pigeonpie

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 23:14 »