• 17 Replies

l.bailey

« on: May 31, 2011, 10:12 »
Hello every one, i am new to chicken keeping ,we have two Orpington Buffs, Two Jersey Giants and yesterday we collected Three young Lemon Sablepoots which we are very excited about.
Our knowledge is limited so you will be seeing lots of posts from me asking for help and advice.
I didn`t realise that keeping chickens would be so addictive, they are great fun and give hours of fun/enjoyment just watching them and getting to know their own little personalities.
My first question is :- The young Cockerel Sablepoot that we picked up yesterday has balls of dirt on his feet, what would the best way be to get these off, he is only very small , i don`t want to cause him too much stress.
Looking forward to yoyr replys and chatting.
Lbailey ( Lorraine )

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 21:07 »
Welcome to the site  :D

I'm going to pop your post over to the Hen House as I think more chickeny people hang out over there who will be able to answer your question than in the Welcome forum  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

retribution

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 21:35 »
you cant get away with just a post like that....... you have to attached photos.... ITS THE LAW.... as joyful or granny will  confirm.

Welcome to the mad about hens house

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 22:35 »
Hello every one, i am new to chicken keeping ,we have two Orpington Buffs, Two Jersey Giants and yesterday we collected Three young Lemon Sablepoots which we are very excited about.
Our knowledge is limited so you will be seeing lots of posts from me asking for help and advice.
I didn`t realise that keeping chickens would be so addictive, they are great fun and give hours of fun/enjoyment just watching them and getting to know their own little personalities.