Reasonably new allotment owner with large plot

• 18 Replies

Aserota

Reasonably new allotment owner with large plot
« on: March 31, 2012, 13:55 »
Hi all,

Hope all are well, this is my first post on the forum! I am young gardener (24 years old) and picked up my allotment last September which is near 10 poles in size (that's around 180 meters squared). I now am working back in the city, but have spent a large amount of the last 2 years based around the UK working on pastoral farms; therefore am definitely not scare of hard work! I was lucky enough to spend 4 hours everyday on the allotment for 6 weeks during September clearing the couch grass, weed killing the regrowth and double digging the soil. I have just planted my first batch of crops and am looking forward to some new growth this spring/summer.

As its my first year on the allotment I have vast amounts to learn, therefore I have only planted out around 50m squared so far and don't intend to do anymore this year. I therefore have a large amount of bare soil with the threat of couch grass (which covered the whole plot when taken over) reappearing. I wanted to cover the bare soil with plastic to stop any re-growth during the next 3 seasons in preparation for next years planting.

Can anyone recommend any materials which could be suitable for the task? In an ideal situation I would prefer to use something 'green' but relistically with a plot this large it would be ridiculously expensive.

I will get some photos later today to show you all the progress!

Adam

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Reasonably new allotment owner with large plot
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 14:00 »
Welcome to the site  :D

Firstly, double check that you are not going to get into trouble for having that little an amount under cultivation, particularly now that you've cleared the plot (well done by the way).  On my site you'd get a letter if 50% wasn't being cultivated.