Gooseberry sawfly

• 6 Replies

julieanne1811

Gooseberry sawfly
« on: August 14, 2010, 15:52 »
I'm very new to all this so have to spend time working out what's eating my plants - when it's nt deer, which is the easy one.
Anyway. My new gooseberry bush produced quite a few berries this year, and very nice they were too. Then I noticed that the leaves had been eatn - it looked like deer because they were definately 'chomped'. I covered the bush. But the leaves kept getting eaten and - well those of you who are expert will know already thata it's down to those Gooseberry Sawflies.
I have tried to find what to do and have this list: remove leaves and larvae at first sign of attack (it's too late for that now though), mulch well in winter, keep base free of weeds, and disturb soil so that birds can eat the hibernating larvea (OK - will do), spray with Derris.
Now, you will all know that Derris is no longer available. There are no biological controls. Are there any Derris-like alterntives? Or am I now for ever condemned to hunting down the larvae?
Any ideas? Anyone?

AndyRVTR

Re: Gooseberry sawfly
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 16:05 »
Derris powder is still available if youre lucky enough to find a garden centre with some in stock, I managed to get a bottle of it just last week...  :)

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2010, 16:08 »
I have a couple of gooseberry bushes that were absolutely ravaged by sawfly for 2 or 3 years running. They were completely stripped of leaves every year so I'm surprised they survived. But this year they were completely free of sawfly, healthy and produced a good crop. I have no idea why, it certainly isn't because of anything I did differently. Either the birds caught them this year or they just got bored and went elsewhere.