Lets Be(e) friends & butterflies of course

• 5 Replies

Dopey113

Lets Be(e) friends & butterflies of course
« on: April 12, 2012, 14:58 »
 Did some sweet peas and foxglove (3,000 seeds) last week at the back of the lotty, and doing some wild flowers this weekend also mostly throw and grow about 4,000 to 5,000 seeds, perennials and annuals mixed seeds, corn poppy mixed (14,000 seeds) lavender (600 seeds) marigolds mixed (600) and I have some herbs as well, like sage oregano, and stuff like that, I have other flowering things as well, like about 10 sunflowers for the birds, I noticed last year, as I'm new to the lotty, that no one had any flowers at all, OK I have gone a bit over the top I know, but if even just 10% get up and grow, then it will make a difference, why cant people give something back, it only takes a little space to have flowers, how else are you going to pollinate everything?

« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 17:59 by DD. »
If Its Not Growing... Its Dead.

LilacSandy

Re: Lets Be(e) friends & butterfly's of course
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 17:53 »
I grow loads of veg and I have two plots but I love the sound of the bees as they flit over the flowers and I grow lots, some for the bees, some to attract the greenfly and cabbage white from the veg, some to cut to take home and some just because they look nice.

sarajane

Re: Lets Be(e) friends & butterflies of course
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 21:35 »
My herb bed is surrounded with chive plants and 2 large lavenders.  The bees absolutely love them and flock in their hundreds when in full bloom.  Also plant lots of tagetes and poppies, cosmos and borage now self seed.

I love to see flowers on the plot

maxyboo

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 21:46 »