Choosing a POL bird

• 4 Replies

beulah59

• Experienced Member
    • Hen Keeper
Choosing a POL bird
« on: December 08, 2009, 08:31 »
We visiting a breeder tomorrow to choose three POL birds ... what should I look for? What are the signs of a good breeder and a healthy bird?
two daughters, nine hens, two goldfish, three cats ...

francais

• Experienced Member
Re: Choosing a POL bird
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 09:43 »
Don't know what advice to offer over buying birds as I am very new to chickens myself, but would say that as with any livestock - recommendations & reputations of a breeder is priority.

Ask around - even ask the breeder if they have any contact details for buyers like you who have had his birds. Speak to them and get their view - any good breeder wouldn't mind I am sure!

Have a look around - are the pens clean? is the place well kept? do the birds look happy? Would have thought that these points are universal across any animal or bird.

Sure the more knowledgeable on here (they are a great group of ladies & gents) will be able to offer a more specific buying guide.

Toni

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2009, 13:47 »
check and make sure they have not got snotty noses, not sneezing, no puffy eyes, that they are alert and not sitting hunched up. check their legs and that there are no raised scales, have a good nosey around - have you visited this breeder before? Do you know others who have had birds from them and ideally take somebody with you who will remain impartial so that you don't just buy them regardless in your eagerness to get some girls. If in any doubt walk away.
Having said that I wish you well with your new girls  :D
Staffies are softer than you think.

grumpydad

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2009, 14:49 »