Red mite

• 5 Replies

vichope74

Red mite
« on: December 02, 2009, 10:43 »
I am a total newbie to keeping chickens.  So new in fact that they haven't even arrived yet.  However through all my research I am well aware of the problem of red mite.  I guess winter is not such a problem time, but should I routinely 'treat' my wooden house  eg spray it.  I know you are meant to go out in the dark with a torch and inspect but think that might give me nightmares seeing all the wee beasties zooming around.  Also what are the best products and can anyone say wether routine treatment with tea tree oil helps - a local poultry keeper says he uses this.  A million questions but am really dreading an infestation. 

ehs284

Re: Red mite
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2009, 20:02 »
We use Barrier Red Mite powder for the birds and spray for the coop. When we got our birds they were infested and it got rid of them without trouble. Now we have a preventative dust and spray every 6 weeks. There are other brands, it's just that the shop stocked this one and we're happy. Tea tree oil is a bit expensive and there are concerns about human health (although it was until recently thought to be effective and safe). There are lots of posts and threads on this forum, so have a browse. No real need to go out at night, if you have a serious problem then a close look at the birds will find a few at any time of the day as some don't manage to leave the birds at the end of the night. Don't panic. Check the pictures for their size and shape. They move quickly so that is both a clue and a problem. If you're not happy with insects, wear gloves and tuck your sleeves into the gloves. Have fun and get your camera ready for when the now white chooks shake themselves and try to look both dignified and accusative at the same time.

hillfooter

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2009, 20:50 »
Welcome Vichope 74,