all girls stopped laying

• 9 Replies

Jo57

• Experienced Member
all girls stopped laying
« on: August 19, 2014, 20:41 »
I have been keeping chickens for a few years now and egg production fluctuates. Sometimes lots almost always at least one but for the past week none. There are 9 girls of varying age,  breed (not hybrids) and size (5 bantams). Some are in first laying year.
I have searched the garden (they free range) - nothing. They all seem well and happy and go to bed happily. I have checked the redmite are not returned but no sign. What could be wrong? or is it time of year. Never been like this before.

BabbyAnn

Re: all girls stopped laying
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 08:25 »
I wonder if the weather has had something to do with it?  We seem to have gone from very warm and sunny to cloudy. wet, windy and dropping temperatures.  One of my (year 1 hybrid) girls has been a bit sporadic all summer but recently even the other 3 are not as productive.  I'm currently worming them just to tick the box as done and to see if this makes any difference (the first time I wormed them the shift in egg production was amazing even though the girls looked happy and healthy before)

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 08:37 »
Are they going into a moult?  Ours mould around this time of year and egg production stops.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2014, 09:28 »
mine have slowed down too - mind you 1 is broody and 2 are living out of their run so probably laying in the fields somewhere. The only time I see them is first thing in the morning when they come back to eat and again in the afternoon when it's treat time.
Staffies are softer than you think.

Jo57

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2014, 10:03 »
Some are moulting, I have wormed, I guess it could be the weather or a combination of all and coincidence all happens together. Just very unusual to have no eggs for so long from 9 chickens