Potato - all top and no bottom

• 5 Replies
Potato - all top and no bottom
« on: December 28, 2020, 15:22 »
I am a beginner-ish.  I have been trying to grow first early Anya and Pink Fir Apple potato for the last 2 seasons in raised beds. Can anyone shed some light on why each plant puts on a huge (more than 8 foot long) top like a triffid, yet there are hardly any potato tubers below ground.  I have tried lifting at 100, 120 and 140 days.  The tops don't like to turn yellow either, keeping their green till the death (or I get fed up and I pull them up).  The only success I had was in 2 tubs where the tops where more limited and there were reasonable tubers at 100-ish days.

Any ideas would be very welcome....
Thanks in advance.
MW

Mintyboy

Re: Potato - all top and no bottom
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2020, 17:49 »
Pink fir apple do need a very long growing season so even though they are classed as a main crop I tend to plant them the same time as the first earlies to give them as long as possible in the ground.
First in last out!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2020, 10:43 by Mintyboy »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2020, 18:13 »
Welcome to the forum  :)

This is a little odd. Are you feeding the ground with anything? How well are you keeping them watered - raised beds can dry out very quickly?

I agree that PFA has a long growing season, but Anya should be ready sooner, so there may well be something else going on.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2020, 18:13 by Yorkie »
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2020, 18:30 »
I'm wondering if there is a lot of Nitrogen in the soil, encouraging growth rather than tuber formation.

What fertiliser/manure have you added to the soil, and/or what medium did you use to fill the raised beds?

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2020, 20:10 »