tomatoes

• 6 Replies

colinc

tomatoes
« on: May 16, 2011, 21:04 »
I have grown my tomatoes from seeds and have loads of tomatoes, in the green house in pots in the garden and in beds, they are all about 6 inches tall. Next question is whats best way of looking after them the do's and do no,ts of tomatoes care.

archies plot

Re: tomatoes
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 21:26 »
hi, colin what i do is i dont let the compost dry out, put canes in the pots to tie them to, pinch out any side shoots, and feed after the first truss of flowers have set, i feed mine with liquid manure, i hope this helps as i am new to veg growing myself, maybe somebody with more expereance knows other tips. regards archie

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 21:46 »
Keep an eye on your local weather forecast and cover with fleece if temperatures under 10 are forecast. If you don't keep them warm enough they can turn blue, and then never really grow properly :(

Mine get fed with liquid tomato feed, the one with seaweed added :)

TheSpartacat

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 23:50 »
And beware of plant hygiene when pinching out side shoots... if you're a smoker, always wash your hands before handling them because Tobacco Mosaic virus can be transmitted to the plant. (Tobacco and tomato are related, and its easily spread from one to the other)

colinc

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2011, 05:11 »
When you say fed when the first set of flowers have set what is meant by this expression.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2011, 05:13 by colinc »

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2011, 05:41 »
When the flower petals have died & dropped off, you'll see a very small, green tomato. At this stage they need  watering with a solution of tomato food, such as Tomorite, or Doff. (There are others). Follow the instructions on the bottle.