Odd behaviour?

• 7 Replies

Carolf

• Experienced Member
Odd behaviour?
« on: July 31, 2011, 13:00 »
One of my chickens ~ Felicity ~ is doing something rather odd (well odd for me as I am a novice).  She is the one that has never laid an egg besides the shell-less one.  
She follows the same routine as Penny before going to lay and egg, i.e eats pellets, drinks quite a bit of water then goes into the nesting box to lay and egg.  The exception being that Felicity doesn't lay an egg.  When she comes out she then goes around picking up long bits of grass or twigs and throws them on her back.  Could she have a problem with her vent?  She seems otherwise happy eating, drinking and foraging in the grass and she looks healthy.  
I saw her doing this about a week ago and then again this morning, which prompted me to make this post for advice.

I followed the advice given in my previous post and stopped giving them treats and they went back to eating their pellets quite happily with one treat in the late afternoon.

I would appreciate any help on this as I am totally clueless as to what she is up to.  :(

Thanks in advance

Carol

When I was young we used to go 'skinny dipping,' now I just 'chunky dunk.'

themagicaltoad1

Re: Odd behaviour?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 13:09 »
I have one that does this from time to time but only when she's broody and has been chucked out of the nest. Has Felicity never laid an egg?

Carolf

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 13:32 »
I have one that does this from time to time but only when she's broody and has been chucked out of the nest. Has Felicity never laid an egg?

Only the one that was shell-less.  She just goes into the nesting box and comes out again a while later without laying an egg.

We got our 2 chickens on the Friday (3 weeks ago) and Penelope gave us our first egg on the Monday and all her eggs are a good size with a nice shell, but Felicity has never given us an egg.