Pests in winter

• 7 Replies

oldcow

• Experienced Member
Pests in winter
« on: September 15, 2010, 20:25 »
This is my first year growing veggies, and I'm thinking of growing a few winter veggies under some cover. One question I have is, do the various pests that plagued my veggies during the rest of the year be still active during the winter? In various stages I got blackfly, slugs and snails, flea beetle, leaf miners, cabbage white caterpillars...

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Pests in winter
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 20:33 »
You'll still get slugs if it's not really cold and you can get whitefly on brassicas.

and hungry pigeons can eat a lot, in some areas :(

I don't know what you were thinking of growing, but it is late for the main winter veg?

oldcow

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2010, 20:55 »
I'm thinking of winter lettuce, some oriental veggies, and I have some cabbages that I've sown some time ago.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2010, 21:39 »
the oriental veg and cabbages can most certainly get mealy aphids, look here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/advice/pests_and_diseases/nonflash_index.shtml?mealy_cabbage_aphid

jdwmk

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2010, 23:11 »
I have my Tuscan Kale under debris netting and it is suffering big time with whitefly but then so is everyone on our site. They are an absolute b****r to clean off, sad as I am, I spent 20 minutes the other day scrubbing the leaves to get them off but it was worth it.

I have suffered from a few slugs but managed to keep the cabbage white away from the cabbages, kale and brussels under the same netting. It is just the whitefly causing issues really.