Building a Hen House

• 9 Replies

---Snakey---

Building a Hen House
« on: September 25, 2010, 10:44 »
Hi all

I'm a newbie to this site and also to chicken keeping. So first of all.... "My names Snakey.... and i'm a hen oholic!!"

Just wanted to chat for those who wanted to take the plunge and build their hen house from scratch. I must admit that finding a design for a simpleton like me was actually quite hard to do online, no real dimensions or "recipes" just loads of pictures and books for sale, so I improvised, used DEFRA guidlines on size and selecting the best parts of designs that I had seen for sale on coops on a commercial level. I would say that it wasn't a massive financial saving and at times (having used multiple swearing words and saw throwing techniques) I wished I had just went out and bought one. I am however delighted with then end result which I did over several weeks doing and hour or so after work. I have added a photo of mine and it has the following features... It sleeps 4 hens (could actually fit another one in comfortably) has a sliding drawer for cleaning out poop, slatted floor space within, two nest boxes accessible from a door at the side and some ventilation holes at the back. The lid/roof is hinged at the top for full access and all in all it probably cost £120. I would welcome comments on it and if anyone would like me to post a schematic online then I would be happy to do so.

All the best... snakey
photo (3).JPG

wolverine

• Experienced Member
Re: Building a Hen House
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 11:12 »
looks great a bit easy for a fox to get in perhaps but good job  :)
"It's so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and then don't say it."

bantam novice

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2010, 12:25 »
Welcome to the Forum, snakey  :).  Well done for building your own!
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

---Snakey---

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2010, 13:58 »
Cheers Wolverine and Bantam,