New Plot Couch grass

• 22 Replies

earthtiller

New Plot Couch grass
« on: April 10, 2006, 13:27 »
Hi,
I am an allotment novice just working a plot for the first year.  The council rotavated the plot for free before handing it over.  I am working my way through the plot forking it over and removing what I can and sowing / planting.  Potatoes, onions, broad beans, strawberries and raspberries are in.  Previously the cite was grass periodically mown.  I have just discovered that removing all that I can see is not effective as a month later the couch grass is back in no uncertain terms.  Is this problem caused by the rotavation? Any ideas as to the best practice to irradicate the couch grass will be gratefully received.  Are there particular crops that can compete with or smother the grass reasonably well?  Are there crops that I should not be attempting as the ground is stony and dry?
Reagards,
Earthtiller :?

noshed

couch grass
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2006, 15:41 »
People swear by covering unused land to exclude the light - black plastic etc. But a good dose of herbicide might be a good idea too, if you're prepared to compromise a bit.
But I've found that a really thick layer of compost on the beds works well - although my weeds might have been a bit more namby-pamby than yours. About a spade's depth just chucked on top seems to have been pretty effective, so I've just planted spuds in there.
Once you beat them back to a certain level, hoeing seems to be enough.
All the best
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
New Plot Couch grass
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2006, 23:14 »
Noshed's right - exclude light and it will die or consider a herbicide.