My chicken is sitting laying her egg for hrs

• 5 Replies

Paris

My chicken is sitting laying her egg for hrs
« on: March 08, 2011, 12:10 »
 I'm new to keeping chickens so any help would be appreciated here, I got 4 chooks on the 1st Dec aged 18wks; and Yolko, a Black Rock has recently started taking longer to lay, the first time was a week ago and she stayed in the nesting box for an hour! It's gradually got longer and yesterday she was in there four 4 hrs!! Her eggs are dark brown and smooth and often streaked with purply red marks, i cant tell if this is blood. She doesnt seem to be in any pain, I've looked it up in several books but can't work out if my little baby is broody, egg bound or ill.  Plleeaasse help. Thanks

8doubles

Re: My chicken is sitting laying her egg for hrs
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 12:15 »
Hi Paris and welcome to the forum, a quick test to see is she is broody is to take her egg while she is sitting on it. If she fluffs up, grumbles and pecks you have a broody hen. :)

Jeanette

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2011, 12:23 »
When you go to her does she fluff up her feathers to make herself seem bigger. If she does then i would say she is broody. If she is broody and she is not sitting on any eggs to hatch make sure that you lift her out a couple of times a day so she can get food and waterbecause she will not leave the nest on her own. You can try to break the broody cycle but i havent tried it so i am not sure. If you can get a metal dog crate put some paper in the bottom and put the crate onto some bricks so that it is off the ground and the air can get underneath and then put the chicken inside. With the colder air flowing underneath her it can stop the broodyness. You will have to put her in it for at least a week and see whay happens. Forgot to say to leave the crate in the run so the others can see her.

hillfooter

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2011, 21:23 »